About us

The Company
Board of Directors
Organization Chart
Power Stations
Installed Capacity
Our Mission
Citizen Charter
Important Links



Renewable Energy
RTI Corner
Commercial Data
Public Notices
Contact us
Webmail Login

      To make Delhi - Power Surplus
  • 1905

    First Diesel Power Station established in Delhi.

    1911 Steam Generating Station set up in Delhi.
    1932 Management of Central Power House handed over to NDMC.
    1939 DCEPA Ltd. established.
    1947 DESTC taken over by DCEPA Ltd.
    1951 Delhi State Electricity Board formed.
    1955 Purchase of Power From Nangal.
    1958 Delhi Electric Supply Undertaking came into existence.
    1959 Certain NDMC area taken over by DESU for electric supply.
    1962 U.J.V.E. Supply Co. taken over by DESU.
    1963 MES&T Corpn. Taken over by DESU.
    1963 Unit # 1 of I.P. Station commissioned (36.6 MW).
    1966 15 MW set installed at RPH.
    1967 One Unit of 62.5 MW commissioned under I.P. Station extension project
    1967 First 220KV S/Stn. Set up at I.P. Station.
    1967 Pool operation of DESU & Bhakra System at 220KV Grid Station at I.P. Station started.
    1968 All the three units (62.5MW each) at I.P. Station Extension project put on commercial use.
    1971 Fifth unit of 60 MW commissioned at I.P. Station, 220 KV S/Stn. Set up at Narela.
    1986 Six G.T. units of 30MW each at GTPS commissioned.
    1989 Replacement units of 267.5MW at RPH commissioned.
    1995 Three WHRUs of 34 MW each at GTPS commissioned.
    24.02.1997 Delhi Vidyut Board came into existence.
    10.06.2000 Foundation stone for 330 MW CCGT Pragati Power Project laid.
    30.06.2002 Delhi Vidyut Board split in 6 companies namely :
    (1) BSES Rajdhani Power Ltd. (2) North Delhi Power Ltd.
    (3) BSES Yamuna Power Ltd. (4) Delhi Transco Ltd.
    (5) Indraprastha Power Generation Co. Ltd. (6) Delhi Power Co.
    01.07.2002 Indraprastha Power Generation Co. Ltd. And Pragati Power Corporation started working independentely under Govt. of NCT Delhi.


    GT No. 1(104MW) of Pragati Power Project on commercial operation.
    03.12.2002 GT No. 2(104 MW) of Pragati Power Project put on commercial operation.
    16.05.2003 STG of Pragati Power Project (122MW ) put on Commercial Operation.
    06.06.2003 Pragati Power Station (330 MW) was dedicated to citizens of Delhi by Hon’ble Chief Minister Of Delhi.
    2007 MOEF has accorded environmental clearance for enhanced capacity of 1600 MW (Max.) Pragati-III Gas Based Combined Cycle Power Project at Bawana , North-West Delhi.
    24-03-08 Foundation Stone of 1500 MW, Pragati-III Power Project at Bawana laid by HONABLE PRIME MINISTER, SH.MANMOHAN SINGH ON 24-MARCH-2008
    27-12-2011 Units of PPS-III 1500 MW started commissioning-Commercial operation declared for GT-1 on 27th Dec., 2011 (216 MW)
    01-04-2012 Units of PPS-III 1500 MW started commissioning-Commercial operation declared for GT-1 + STG-1 on 1st Apr., 2012 (342 MW)
Achievements Future Projects News

Website Designing & Maintenance, catered by
IT Department,IPGCL-PPCL.